Plotting with nilearn: Any possibility to zoom or to visualize section of image?

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to fMRI data analysis and I started to work with nilearn, nibabel and nipype. For my master thesis I am investigating different pattern of resting state connectivity of subnuclei of the amygdala.
For this purpose I am using some brain atlases which are tailored to the amygdala only and the subnuclei are thus very small.
I want to plot the subnuclei in greater detail because with the usual plotting functions (plot_roi, view_img, plot_img,…) and their default parameters I cannot recognize anything. I have had a look on the possible parameters and either I don’t understand which one to specify or it’s just not possible. Is there some parameter to specify?
And if not, can anyone help me to find a solution to plot a subsection of the atlas image (3D nii image) on a brain template?
I know that I can plot it with greater detail using matplotlib and the data array but then I am missing the reference points for the underlying brain template.
Best,
Carina

I’m not sure about a parameter for zoom, but here are 2 ways to do this:

• crop the image and background before plotting:
from nilearn import plotting, datasets, image

img = image.load_img(datasets.fetch_atlas_destrieux_2009()["maps"])
# (you can change the last column of the affine to move the new fov)
img = image.resample_img(
    img, target_affine=img.affine, target_shape=(40, 40, 40)
)
bg = image.load_img(datasets.load_mni152_template(2))
bg = image.resample_to_img(bg, img)
disp = plotting.plot_roi(img, bg_img=bg)
plotting.show()

plot1

• change the limits of the matplotlib axes after plotting
from nilearn import plotting, datasets

atlas = datasets.fetch_atlas_destrieux_2009()
disp = plotting.plot_roi(atlas["maps"])
disp.axes["x"].ax.set_xlim(-30, 30)
disp.axes["x"].ax.set_ylim(-30, 30)
plotting.show()

plot2

Thank you very much for that fast answer!