Resting-state de-noising with clean_img, signal.clean and NiftiMasker

Hi everyone,

I am new to nilearn (and to python in general). I have been trying out different Nilearn functions to de-noise 7T resting state data, that was preprocessed using fmriprep. I tried nilearn.image.clean_img, nilearn.signal.clean and nilearn.maskers.NiftiMasker but each time the resultant de-noised image looks weird.

I copied and pasted a brief example of the code I used for each function below, along with an example output image. I would really appreciate it if someone can tell me what I am doing wrong / what might be going wrong and how I can fix it.

Thank you in advance.

–

from nilearn import image as nimg
from nilearn.maskers import NiftiMasker
import numpy as np
import pandas as pd

mask_file='/path/to/the/mni_normalized/mask/subj_mask_normalized.nii.gz'
mask_img = nimg.load_img(mask_file)

func_file='/path/to/the/mni_normalized/func/subj_normalized_bold.nii.gz'
func_img = nimg.load_img(func_file)

confound_file='/path/to/the/confound/file/confounds.tsv'
confounds= pd.read_csv("confounds.tsv", delimiter ='\t')
confounds=confounds.values 

#(confounds include motion, WM, CSF, and derivatives for all from fmriprep, RETROICOR regressors derived using a toolbox)

image.clean_img

clean_img= nimg.clean_img(func_img, confounds=confounds, detrend=True, standardize=False, low_pass=0.2, high_pass=0.01, t_r=0.8, mask_img=mask_img)

clean_img.to_filename('clean_img_denoised_bold.nii.gz')

Output:

signal.clean

func_data=func_img.get_fdata()
func_data = np.reshape(func_data, (Number_of_Trs, -1)) #matching signal.shape[0] and confound.shape[0]

signal_cleaned=nilearn.signal.clean(func_data, runs=None, detrend=True, standardize=False, sample_mask=None, confounds=confounds, standardize_confounds=False, filter='butterworth', low_pass=0.2, high_pass=0.01, t_r=0.8, ensure_finite=False)

clean_data = np.reshape(signal_cleaned, func_img.shape)