W2D2 - Content discussion

Here is the thread for W2D2 content discussion.

P.S. : Let me know if duplicate :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

Hey,

thanks for starting this topic.

The Intro video doesnā€™t seem to introduce what linear systems are and the basic intuitions for the maths behind it (e.g. relationship between eigenvectors of the A mtx and dynamics, which is covered in 5s).

Does anyone know of a brief and effective intro to linear systems that the students could use to complement the intro video?

4 Likes

Just watched the intro vedio of W2D2. The moment I finished the vedio, I felt a great relief from chaos.
From my perspective, as a total beginner, I wish I could learn some basic information about linear system through a simple way. However, after the first several minutes, I was trapped in handwritten notions and complicated research without a good understanding of what we are talking about. I think W1D4 is good example.

3 Likes

cant agree more!!!

Have a look at the micro lectures in the tutorials? I felt they moved at a nice pace, and give some intuition about e.g. the relationship to the eigenvectors. Thereā€™s also some references there for material you might want to watch in your own time

9 Likes

thanks, the videos in the tutorials are very helpful indeed.

I was hoping to find a primer to send my students to watch/read before the intro to help with understanding the intro itself.
I guess I can tell them to watch the first of the embedded videos.

The 3Blue1Brown videos are fantastic for algebra introductions (but they are quite abstract, so might be difficult for someone more application focussed to see the connection immediately)

1 Like

Hey,

This day actually incorporates several different topics (deterministic linear dynamical systems in continuous time and space, Markov processes, stochastic processes, auto-regressive models), each would have its own general introduction.