Weird alignment from EPI to T1 space

Summary of what happened:

I’m new to fMRIprep. I’ve been working on a dataset recently and found some weird output from .html report. Particularly in ’ Alignment of functional and anatomical MRI data (surface driven)’ Session. The ‘fixed’ and ‘moving’ images are not overlaid well. I paste two screenshots for a sample participant. This issue is found in 3-4 participants in a 50 participants datasets. Please let me know if it is helpful to upload any source files or original T1 images. I wonder if this issue is related to bad T1? Should I change to other alignment method?

Command used

--write-graph \
--dummy-scans 10 \
--fd-spike-threshold 0.9 \
--fs-license-file /optnfs/freesurfer/6.0.0/license.txt \
--cifti-output 91k \
--skip-bids-validation \
--random-seed 42 \
--bold2t1w-dof 9\
--skull-strip-fixed-seed \
--resource-monitor 

Version:

Environment (Docker, Singularity, custom installation):

Singularity

Data formatted according to a validatable standard? Please provide the output of the validator:

BIDS-validated

Relevant log outputs (up to 20 lines):

bbregister was used to generate transformations from EPI-space to T1w-space. Note that Nearest Neighbor interpolation is used in the reportlets in order to highlight potential spin-history and other artifacts, whereas final images are resampled using Lanczos interpolation.

Screenshots / relevant information:

1 Like

2 other participants have similar issues. Basically the brain image in ‘moving’ is much smaller than ‘fixed’.

Hi @KeBo2023,

Do you get better performance in the latest stable release?

Best,
Steven

Hi @KeBo2023 ,

You may also use the following options to see if you get an improvement in the bold-to-T1w registration:
--bold2t1w-dof 6 --bold2t1w-init header

1 Like