Why so many fMRI analysis tools?

Hi experts,
I am a freshman working with fMRI data analysis.
I am very curious about why there are so many tools (SPM FSL ANTs BrainVoyager HCPworkbench) conducting similar process (registeration, normalization, motion correction, slice time correction, spatial smooth, highpass etc.).
My supervisor recently showed us a list of analysis toolbox and commented that he was wondering why the amout of toolbox far outnumber the limited number of analysis and he ascribed it to the chaostic organization of the society.
If the phenomenon do exists, several brainstorming reasons come up with me like
1. There may be several group separately working on fmri studies at the inception of this field and leave the historical trace of multiple analysis tools
2. An interaction with computer science like prevailing programming language has changed through the time, thereby new ones emerged to be compiled with industrial trends
3. New analysis methods are invented or more user friendly interface is supported by different study groups
4. Though the concepts of analysis is limited, actual computation or engineering tricks are much complex and various, different tools have really different operations on the same analysis.
How about oppinions of all you experts? How to think straight about this? Is there any practical suggestions on fmri learners’ choice of tools to kick off study?

Best

1 Like

Welcome to the chaotic world. It’s like

Grab the software other people use in your group. So you can ask them.

2 Likes