Compare two protocols for TEDANA

Dear community members,

I have recently started working with Multi-Band Multi-Echo (MBME) data in a pipeline including fMRIprep and TEDANA (see details of scan protocols below). To test the pipeline, I collected fixation (“resting state”) data with two protocols.

I used fMRIprep 23.2.0, which outputs the single-echos after head motion correction + suceptibility distortion correctoin (no slice-timing correction due to short TR), and subsequently ran TEDANA (23.0.1) with the default tedpca=‘ica’ option.

As I have no experience in analyzing ME data, I would love to get your insight in order to choose the best protocol. My concerns are the following (I hope it’s okay they’re all in a single post):

1. I was worried that the high accelaration of MB4+GRAPPA2 might lead to bad motion artifacts. However, at least the carpet plots don’t show much difference compared with the MB4 protocol:

MB4 (before and after denoising)

MB4 + GRAPPA2 (before and after denoising)

I tend towards the MB4+ GRAPPA2 protocol, since its highest echo time is lower (42 ms < 63 ms). The Adaptive Mask for both protocols is 100% at 3, meaning all voxels within the brain mask had good signal for all echos. Is this reasonable?

1. It seems that using curve-fit has a strong impact on the denoising. Compare with the last image above:

MB4 + GRAPPA2 + curve-fit (after denoising)

Is this as surprising as I feel it is?

1. Both protocols led to ~27 ICs, with ~20% variance explained in the final accepted ICs. Is this much lower than expected for fixation data?

However, if I use tedpca=kundu, about 50% of the variance is retained:

These include many ICs with a broad spectrum and very diffuse whole-brain maps, so I lean against using it here. Do you agree?

To summarize, I tend to go with MB4 + GRAPPA2 using TEDANA with curve-fit.

I would love to hear it you think I’m missing something here.