Introduce yourself!

If you are new to this forum, please introduce yourself since this will help other members of the community to know a bit more about you.

You could do the following:

• Just say Hi
  • Provide some details about you
  • Share some of your interests
  • Pose a question or request for help

Share what ever feels right for you.

33 Likes

Hi everyone, I’m Elizabeth ! :wave::smile:

I’m a PhD candidate at the Montreal Neurological Institute, and I’m interested in asking questions with naturalistic data sets using an open and reproducible toolkit. I’ve been lucky to be involved in several projects like BIDS, fMRIPrep, nilearn, and tedana; and I’m passionate about helping to foster open communities for scientific open source.

Cheers ! :sparkles:

36 Likes

Hi all, I’m Chris Markiewicz. I am not new, but this thread is…

I’m a software developer at the Stanford Center for Reproducible Neuroscience, where I work on/with fMRIPrep, FitLins and OpenNeuro, as well as contribute to the Brain Imaging Data Structure (BIDS) standard and associated tooling like PyBIDS.

I’m generally interested in tools and methods that help researchers answer interesting questions, rather than having a specific scientific question that drives me. I’m also interested in the much harder problem of developing communities that can maintain useful tools as influential developers move on in their careers, rather than letting them decay or requiring those people to linger forever.

I also am active in the NIPY community, and you can talk to me about

• nibabel - Python interface to imaging data
  • nipype/pydra - Python workflow engine to build reusable neuroimaging pipelines
  • niflows - A framework for packaging workflows and specifying environments in which they can be reproducibly run (this is not specifically Python…)

I do a lot with Python these days and wrote up a set of packaging recommendations which you may or may not find helpful.

41 Likes