Questions Regarding fMRI Preprocessing with fMRIPrep: Resolution, Time Points, and Dimensions

Hello everyone,

I have recently used fMRIPrep for preprocessing my fMRI data. And I’ve encountered a few issues that I’m struggling to understand. These may be kind of basic questions but I’m relatively new to this field, so I’m sorry!

Here’s the command I used for preprocessing:

fmriprep-docker /home/datasets/download /home/datasets/output_dir participant \
    --fs-license-file /home/license.txt 2>&1 | tee /home/datasets/stdout.log

Here’s a brief overview of my questions:

1. Resolution Changes Post-Processing : After pre-process, the resolution of functional images changed from (1.71875, 1.71875, 3.48, 2.0) to (1.719, 1.719, 3.48, 1.0). Why the time resolution for func images changed from 2s to 1s, while the number of time points stayed the same? Is it correct?

2. Start Time Change : Initially, all fMRI onsets were at 0s with a Repetition Time of 2s and an Echo Time of 0.02. However, after pre-processing, the output file indicates that the start time for all subjects has been altered to 0.972s, as shown below.

# filename: sub1001/func/sub-1001_task-Mult_run-01_space-MNI152NLin2009cAsym_desc-preproc_bold.json
{
  "RepetitionTime": 2,
  "SkullStripped": false,
  "SliceTimingCorrected": true,
  "StartTime": 0.972,
  "TaskName": "Single-Digit Multiplication"
}

How to interpret this new start time? Does this mean that I should consider the first time point as being collected at 0.972s?

1. Dimension Changes : The dimensions of my anat images changed from (256, 256, 160) to (193, 229, 193) after preprocessing, and func images changed from (128, 120, 32, 121) to (89, 110, 49, 121). Why these dimensions changed when the resolution hardly did? What determines the pre-processing output dimensions, and why do some dimensions increase (e.g., the third dimension of func images from 32 to 49, anat images from 160 to 193)?