Using AFNI to preprocess dog fMRI image

Hi, I’m new to AFNI, when I was using AFNI to preprocess dog fMRI images, something goes wrong. I used uber_subject.py to generate the preprocessing scripts. my processing blocks contain tshift align volreg blur mask scale regress. But the images after align is completely distorted. I found that the align block uses 3dSkullStrip to anat image, and this function only apply to human brains. so how should I do?

I should mention that uber_subject.py hasn’t been updated to keep pace with afni_proc.py (the underlying script that uber_subject) calls. I would recommend that you use afni_proc.py directly with various options for considerably more flexibility!

Either way, if you want turn off the skull-stripping in afni_proc.py, pass the option -anat_has_skull no.

Thank you, I will try this

Additional questions, the template for dog brain I used do not have skull, so if I want to strip the skull for the dog brains, how can I do, the 3dSkullStrip do not apply to animals.

Howdy-

I have done a small amount of canine MRI processing previously, and I think we can try using AFNI’s @animal_warper program for this, and integrate the results into a afni_proc.py processing stream. Are you able to share the data, which might make it easier to get started?

Also, for AFNI-specific questions, using this AFNI Message Board link might be easier:
https://afni.nimh.nih.gov/afni/community/board/list.php?1
or, if asking questions here about AFNI programs, please use the “afni” tag. That will make it easier for myself and others to get the notifications (I am not sure how to get notifications about non-tagged keywords on this message board, unfortunately).

–pt